Once Upon a Rainy Day

December 7, 2009 at 3:56 am | Posted in berbagi cerita | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Only toads are happy with the rain. I remember the days when I was  only seven or eight when the toads were singing joyfully in the rain outside my classroom. They sounded so happy, as if every single drop of the rain was a blessing from the Gods. Amphibians. What do you expect, eh? They pray for the rain night and day. But I hate frogs and toads, especially the infamous kodok blentung. Kermit on Sesame Street is cute, but all the toads I have encountered are slimy and repulsive. Ah, yes, now I remember that giant, ugly toad who hid behind the banana tree near the warung at school. I believed he was stalking me. That thing, the toad, that brownish toad! Thank God school is over and my workplace is far from the swamps (You see, the field at my junior high school, a Muhammadiyah school, always turned into a swamp when the rainy season came). But as soon as I grew up, I began to forget the toads. Perhaps because I now live in the heavily urbanized Jakarta, where the singing toads are no longer heard. Where are they now? Are they on Facebook too? Or perhaps because the rain reminds of something else now, something fuzzy, something that I cannot tell what it is, no matter how hard I try to retrieve it. Is it first love? Is it God? Is it part of the past that wants to be remembered? I don’t know. It’s a longing without an object to long for. It’s a human thing. It’s something that science cannot explain. I call it melancholy.

So the sky is dark and the roads are wet and slippery in Jakarta. Here’s a song by Jubing Kristianto. It’s called Once Upon a Rainy Day. I just learned to play it a few days ago. It’s actually one of his easy pieces, but amateurs are amateurs. My playing is far from clean. And as much as I want you to know that I know that we all know that I just want to show off my guitar playing here, do note that I dedicate this song to all of you who, like me, have a sort of a love affair with the rain.

NB: The back sound was not the sound of the rain. It was actually the little fan in my room. But, anyway, lets just pretend it was really the sound of the pouring rain. :mrgreen:

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I prefer to Morning rain (from becak fantasy album).

    ^

    a Milan’s symbol at u’r carpet, so are u Milanisti? :mrgreen:

  2. That’s beautiful.

    I dedicate this song to all of you who, like me, have a sort of a love affair with the rain.

    ThankU.

  3. @zephyr
    .
    Well, I love most of Jubing’s works.
    .
    @jensen
    .
    Thank you and you’re welcome.

  4. *listening to the play*

    Oh, Nice. Love it. 🙂

    o note that I dedicate this song to all of you who, like me, have a sort of a love affair with the rain.

    Thank you. ^^

    perhaps because the rain reminds of something else now, something fuzzy, something that I cannot tell what it is, no matter how hard I try to retrieve it.

    Yeah… Just feel the rain. It there is something on it, somehow it will retrieve by itself someday.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

