Everything You Want To Know About Kopral Geddoe But Too Afraid To Ask Sora9n

December 20, 2008 at 1:55 am | Posted in refleksi, sekedar | 21 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Refleksi Setahun di Worpress

In the beginning was boredom

Bali. 2007. I was utterly bored. Been there, done that. Well, not really, I can’t swim soale. 😕 I had grown tired of even telling my jealous friends that even the island of the Gods — with all its natural, mystical, sexual and heavenly ambiences — could make you bored to hell. And I mean it; at the time, I really wanted to go back to the city I love and loathe: Jakarta. Thank God, there was Internet. I spent hours before my laptop at my tiny office, chatting via YM with my coworker — who sat next to me! — or illegally downloading the old songs that I loved so much when I was a teenager. My Jakarta friend yelled at me: “You’re in Bali and what you’re doing is staying at office all day!!?” It was pathetic, I know. But the truth is it was not Bali’s monotonous life that made me glued to my LCD screen. It was WordPress!

The acute procrastinator had just found his playground.

I was surprised and amazed by the exuberance of Indonesian blogosphere. For such a long time, I felt alone in the Internet. I never knew that some personal blogs — where you write about how this rootless life is tormenting you — could become a locus for a lively discussion. As I was then, and still am, infatuated by God talks, I frequented Wedulgembes’ blog; there I met M. Sejuki, a typical Muslim apologist, who said I was like a Jew for rejecting “the Truth I have known” and I was “an agent of JIL”. I encountered some Christian bigots as well, and learned that they were as ignorant as the aforementioned Muslim apologist of their own religion’s history. I was critical to the Trinity as I was then infatuated with Christology and wanted to know more about how the lay Christians comprehend the unthinkable concept. There I got a friend too: Mas Aku-Bahagia, an open-minded Muslim who turned out to be much, much older than me. And I also met a Biblically well-versed Catholic with a funny nickname Sukro, who introduced me to resourceful forum Sarapan Pagi. I forgot how I got there, but suddenly I was in Secondprince’s blog, discussing the infallibility of Ali’s offspring. Again, I was truly amazed. WordPress is surely a lot more dynamic than blogspot!

My Second Blog
I decided to join WordPress and came out with Rumah Gentole. My original aim was simple: to encounter the existing bigoted sites attacking religions, be they owned by Muslims, Christians or some charlatans. At the time, I was also somehow perturbed by the growing number of agnostics and atheists. I don’t remember how many times I heard people I know proclaiming themselves “agnostics” and telling me that I was just kurang-kerjaan and wasting my time with religion and theology. How could you say you’re an agnostic if you’re too lazy to study theology!? So I posted short writings criticizing agnosticism and atheism. Not many people visited my blog. Well, you need not to tell me, I’m neither great thinker nor talented writer. But I was really expecting a discussion. So I thought I just needed to mess around at someone’s blog. Hahaha… 😈 There I, almost irresponsibly, stormed Sora9n’s now-probably-abandoned “theistic agnosticism” in one of his legendary posts: “Proud of Being an Agnostic?”. Mbak Snowie was there, and so was Kopral Geddoe.

Anonymity and Virtual Identity
I was amazed [I think I have overused this word] at the clarity of Sora9n’s writing, and astounded by Geddoe’s eloquent arguments. Who are these people? This is blogosphere. People are what they post and comment out. Till now, I don’t know who Sora9n is, or what he is like; he could be one of the late Soeharto’s grandchildren! Or he might be a relative of mine. Or an old friend. Well, he could be anybody. But I don’t really care; for what matters is what he writes incites my interest. And who is this Kopral Geddoe? I was like “what the f***!” when I learned that he was still a teenager. I thought he was a 30-something PhD candidate with an unlimited internet access blogging from a dark university basement. But again, this is blogosphere. It does not really matter how old you are; for, again, you are what you posted and commented out. You are a bodiless mind; just like what the polymath Ibnu Sina once imagined long before Descartes came up with the idea cogito ergo sum.

I don’t facebook. I am not interested in knowing that somebody is somebody’s or nobody’s friend, or that somebody is now studying abroad, or that somebody is now sitting on a high-paying position in a prestigious company, or that somebody is a lucky bastard marrying a lovely, angelic girl. Anti-social? Probably. But I would be hypocritical to say that I am never intrigued about the “real person” behind the avatars of bloggers I have come to know quite well. I am intrigued, sometimes, but I always think that knowing too much of the offline identity of a blogger will spoil the excitement of reading his anonymous writings. You know, there is something really cool sexy about writing anonymously. Tan Malaka did it, Kiekerkegaard did it. That’s why I think Kopdaran is not really a good idea, though I know it would not be hard for anybody to know my real name and where I work. Mas Sitijenang is my neighbor! We perhaps have lunch at the same Warung Padang without knowing each other! Gimana nih Mas Jenang, perlu diselesaikan tidak?

Well, anyhow, I am glad that although I am very much tempted to turn this blog into my second diary where I posted my personal rants on my life, especially at work, Catatan Gentole is, I hope, still listed in Danalingga’s “Perjalanan Spirtual Teman-teman” —  a simple site where people can read some articles on religious issues seen from an unbigoted perspective. Yes, this blog is far from being consistent; I know that sometimes I posted something just to say “Hello World!” It’s  just that, you know, I now feel like being part of this WordPress community and things could be a little bit, or very personal. Speaking of getting personal, what’s the title all about? Hehe, I don’t know. I just think it sounds cool for a post title. Or maybe I am just a big fan of the two. 😀

PS: I once told Esensi that I wanted to delete this blog. Maybe I will. Later.

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. PS: I once told Esensi that I wanted to delete this blog. Maybe I will. Later.

    I hope that will happen about, say, 100 years later… 😀

  2. Woho.. pertamax…
    Having internet at home is a great things…
    The dark side of Internet is tempting…

  3. I hope that will happen about, say, 100 years later…

    Relax. I’m a procrastinator. When I say “later”, it could mean aeons later. 😀

  4. You know, there is something really cool sexy about writing anonymously.

    Jadi…maksudnya mas gentole mau bilang kalau sora dan geddoe itu cool dan seksi? 😕

  5. @catshade
    .
    Geddoe is not necessarily anonymous. He just out of reach, being in Malaysia and such. But Sora in other hand, is really anonymous by choice.
    .
    But for Indonesia anonymous blogger, I would say I respect bangaip. But he is also not so anonymous.
    .
    Let me finish here before we start categorizing anonymousity level and debating about anonymous definition.

  6. @ gentole
    so, when do you pay off your debt? 😕
    *my request, my request* :mrgreen:

  7. mau stop ngeblog? Udah sembuh dari narsisme ya? *ngacir sebelum ditimpuk gentole*

  8. It’s difficult. “The digital you” sometimes gives off a different vibe and presence than you-in-person. It’s not necessarily our fault, it’s in the eye of the beholder. Avatars, writing styles, these contributed to forming a terawangan in the minds of people. Hence to kopdar is sometimes dangerous as it will shatter the terawangan; worse, the one who you’d meet might even find you vastly different than s/he expected.
    .
    It’s not about being geeky or sok misterius or something like that — it’s just that some people are far better at writing than talking.
    .
    BTW, I’m not anonymous, I’m out of reach. :mrgreen: Once Mbak Ma phoned me and said that she’s visiting Malaysia and currently in a mall nearby my kosan — then she saw me all right.
    .
    p.s.
    A good way to procrastinate: learning how to swim!

  9. @ K. geddoe

    BTW, I’m not anonymous, I’m out of reach. :mrgreen: Once Mbak Ma phoned me and said that she’s visiting Malaysia and currently in a mall nearby my kosan — then she saw me all right.

    r,really?? 😯
    😎
    .
    Looked her comments at your blog all this time…
    Ahem, u_u
    You must make a “decision” as soon as possible brother, because that is in a zero hour yet. Her attention doesn’t fit to hold a candle yours :mrgreen:

    OOT
    *nyampah lagi, di blog orang pula, sorry ya mas gentole* 😆

  10. There I, almost irresponsibly, stormed Sora9n’s now-probably-abandoned “theistic agnosticism” in one of his legendary posts: “Proud of Being an Agnostic?”

    Oops. That’s not all yet…

    …you forget this one. :mrgreen:
     
    *switch Indonesia*
     
    Hmm, ya, bisa dibilang rada abandoned juga sih. Stance saya sekarang lebih ke agnostisisme tanpa embel-embel™, soalnya. 😛 Walaupun tentunya masih dalam lingkup agnostisisme juga.

    Everything You Want To Know About Kopral Geddoe But Too Afraid To Ask Sora9n

    Kayak judul artikel tabloid gosip…? ^^;;

  11. Mas Sitijenang is my neighbor! We perhaps have lunch at the same Warung Padang without knowing each other! Gimana nih Mas Jenang, perlu diselesaikan tidak?

    yuuuk… boleh aja. tapi saya biasanya malem, kayak satpam. 😎

  12. @catshade

    Jadi…maksudnya mas gentole mau bilang kalau sora dan geddoe itu cool dan seksi?

    Wah jadinya begitu yah? Kalo saya bilang Tan Malaka itu seksi karena dia “rebellious” dan “Marxist”, dan Anda kebetulan seorang yang “rebellious” juga “Marxist”, apakah itu artinya saya mengatakan Anda “seksi”? Itukan deduksi, Mas.
    .
    @frozen
    .
    Later, okay.
    .
    @illuminationist
    .
    Apakah narsisisme itu “penyakit”?
    .
    @K.geddoe

    A good way to procrastinate: learning how to swim!

    Yeah, great! Maybe I’ll do it, later.
    .
    @sora9n

    Oops. That’s not all yet…

    …you forget this one. :mrgreen:

    Hehe and that one too, of course.
    .

    Kayak judul artikel tabloid gosip…?

    Saya nyontek Zizek, “Everything you want to know about Lacan but too afraid to ask Hitchcock”. Dan dia yang nyontek buku apa gitu soal pendidikan seks.
    .
    @sitijenang
    .
    Hehehe…satpam!

  13. Saya nyontek Zizek, “Everything you want to know about Lacan but too afraid to ask Hitchcock”. Dan dia yang nyontek buku apa gitu soal pendidikan seks.

    Nah, saya udah nebak-nebak ini judul ujung-ujungnya pasti nyontek dari urusan begituan.

  14. Saya nyontek Zizek, “Everything you want to know about Lacan but too afraid to ask Hitchcock”. Dan dia yang nyontek buku apa gitu soal pendidikan seks.

    Pengispirasian judul yang puarah buanget :mrgreen:

    Well, not really, I can’t swim soale. 😕

    😯
    Tidak bisa dipercaya untuk seorang gentole? 😕

  15. Apakah narsisisme itu “penyakit”?

    .
    kalo mau belajar soal narsisisme, dari apa-bagaimana sampai dampak-pencegahan-penanggulangannya lihat di samvak.tripod.com
    .
    Ditulis oleh seorang narsis, mantan intel AD Israel yg sekarang jadi konsultan ekonomi di Baklan. 😀

  16. @gentole
    jah udah lupa html-an.. betulin yah… (yg ini apus ajah)

  17. *balkan nya jg

  18. 😆
    *Petit Mal*

  19. Eh, pada akhirnya tiada yang memberi ucapan selamat setahun eksistensi di WP? Saya saja deh. Met ultah blog-nya ya, mas. 😛

    There I, almost irresponsibly, stormed Sora9n’s […]

    Rumahnya Sora itu, lumayan jadi pilihan juga bagi banyak blogger tuk “memperkenalkan diri” ya?

    *inget diri sendiri*

    But Sora in other hand, is really anonymous by choice.
    ~dnial

    Tapi, saya masih bercita-cita ktemu beliau. Nantang maen Winning Eleven! 😆

  20. @K.geddoe
    .
    :mrgreen:
    .
    @rukia

    .

    Tidak bisa dipercaya untuk seorang gentole?

    Memangnys seorang Gentole itu seperti apa?
    .
    @rudi

    .
    Iya dibetulin. Wah saya sih udah lama baca tuh artikel itu, kayaknya. NPD yang penyakit, narsisisme pada kadarnya bukan? Malahan sehat? 😀
    .
    @secondprince
    .
    petit mal juga deh
    .
    @jensen99

    .
    Iyah, saya lihat juga begitu.
    .
    Soal jadi anonim, sebenernya yang mau anonim itu saya. Kan kalo kopdaran saya enggak anonim lagi. Saya kalo ketemu sora, mau wawancara saja. 😀

  21. *mengenang masa lalu*
    ah, iya… waktu itu saya yang malah tersendat-sendat diskusinya. abis sedang di detik-detik penyelesaian Skripsi sih 🙂
    _
    Jadi, blog mas gentole jg dah satu tahun ya….
    Duh, selamat ya…. 🙂
    _

    Soal jadi anonim, sebenernya yang mau anonim itu saya. Kan kalo kopdaran saya enggak anonim lagi. 😀

    yah, hilang deh kesempatan buat ngajak mas gentole kopdar. Padahal saya juga penasaran sama situ :mrgreen:

    padahal lagi, besok saya mau ke Bandung lho 😎
    lewat Jakarta khan :mrgreen:
    .

    BTW, kok kali ini, di dasbord WP sya, malah nggak ada link apapun dari sini 😦


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

